Redemption / New Covenant/ New birth: one-time experience (John 1:11–13) 2. Salvation: an ongoing/ continuing process (Eph. 2:8) (Titus 3:5) (1 Cor. 1:18)

by purifymyheart

Derek Prince:
1. #New birth: #one-time experience (John 1:11–13)
2. #Salvation: an #ongoing/ #continuing #process (Eph. 2:8) (Titus 3:5) (1 Cor. 1:18)
a. Perfect tense—“having been saved” (Eph. 2:8)
b. Simple past tense—a specific time (Titus 3:5)
c. Continuing present—“are being saved” (1 Cor. 1:18) (compare Noah’s
ark)

====================

DF]Complete Salvation and How to Receive It TS011 – Derek Prince …
http://www.derekprince.org/Publisher/File.aspx?ID=1000034819
Part 1 –. 4291. I. So Great a Salvation (Heb. 2:3) … C. Sacrifice of Jesus perfect and complete—nothing can be added or taken away … Salvation: an ongoing/continuing process a. Perfect tense—“having been saved” (Eph. 2:8) b. … Continuing present—“are being saved” (1 Cor. … V. How to Appropriate What God Has Done.

=====================

David prayed Psalm 51 before Jesus came in the New Covenant.  David was seeking salvation.  We pray Psalm 51 as “the believer’s confession of sin.”

John MacArthur commentary on Psalm 51, “The Believer’s Confession Of Sin:”

Excerpt:  Lord, now as we come to this table, we realize what David didn’t yet know that the Lord Jesus Christ on the cross paid the penalty to make this forgiveness available. We’re not asking for salvation, we want the joy of our salvation back. We already belong to You. We want purity of life because we want usefulness and we want delight to come to You and we want to be able to administer effectively to the saints.

John MacArthur commentary on Psalm 51:
Excerpt: “So he knows God desires that this take place. In verse 8, “Make me hear joy and gladness. Let the bones which You have broken rejoice.” He wants restoration. He wants reconciliation. God has broken his bones, metaphorically speaking, crushed him. He is now a broken and contrite heart. He wants the restoration that he knows God wants.

You know, when you go to the Lord in the time of confession and you pour out your heart in this true confession attitude, you already know that this is what God is waiting for. And when this confession comes, the discipline ends because God is by nature a forgiving God.

Verse 9, “Hide Your face from my sin. Blot out all my iniquities.” He knows this is consistent with the nature of God. Micah 7:18 and 19, “Who is a pardoning God like You?” Or as it says in the Psalms, “He removes our sins…Psalm 103:12…as far as the east is from the west. Buries them in the depths of the sea. Remembers them no more.” God is a forgiver by nature. Psalm 86:5; Psalm 99:8; Psalm 130 verse 4; everywhere, but Psalm 130 verse 4, good to remember, “There is forgiveness with You.”

So God is holy, that sets the standard. That sets the standard for forgiveness. He wants holiness. He is powerful, that establishes the source of this cleansing, He has the power to do it. He is willing because it is that which He desires. He is forgiving. So he understands his sin and he understands his God. And so here comes in verse 10 his prayer…this is the prayer of the penitent who understands his sin and understands his God, “Create in me a clean heart, O God, renew a steadfast spirit within me. Do not cast me away from Your presence. Do not take Your Holy Spirit from me. Restore to me the joy of Your salvation. Sustain me with a willing spirit.”

I just want forgiveness. I want a clean heart, not a dirty one. I want a steadfast spirit, not a wavering duplicitous unfaithful one. I don’t want this isolation, this cosmic loneliness of being separated from You. I don’t want You to take Your Holy Spirit from me. This isn’t saying a believer can have the Holy Spirit and have the Holy Spirit removed. David is king, he has a special anointing on his life, an anointing that was indicated as the coming of the Spirit. Remember in the Old Testament it says, “The Spirit of God came upon So-and-so and he prophesied and the Spirit of God departed?” This is a unique Old Testament gift from God, an enabling of the Spirit for some unique role within the purposes of God in the theocratic kingdom. David wants to have the anointing in the future, he wants to be a faithful king. He wants to be useful to God. And then in verse 12 he wants the joy that he once had in salvation. He didn’t lose his salvation, he just lost the joy. And he wants a willing spirit…a spirit that is devoted only to that which pleases God.

This is the heart cry of a truly penitent man. We could say a lot more about that but just to wrap it up. There’s a perspective on himself that’s at stake here. Looking at now his own purpose, his own life. If I as a believer deal with the sin in the right way, understand God in a right way, I still have to consider myself. And David did that. And I still have to ask the question, “What would forgiveness do for me? How would it change me? How would it impact me and make me impact others?” And he begins with sinners.

If he gets his life right, if he is washed and clean, how is that going to effect sinners? Verse 13, “Then I will teach transgressors Your ways and sinners will be converted to You.” Wow! You want to have a life that matters? You want to have a testimony? You want to have a witness? You want to have an effective pattern of living that draws people to salvation? You want to be able to teach transgressors the ways of God so that they will be converted? Then you have to have your life washed and purged.

That reminds us of Isaiah, right? The angel takes the coal, puts it to his tongue, he’s cleansed. The Lord says, “Whom will I send and who will go?” Isaiah says, “Here am I, Lord, send me,” and He sends him. He’s looking for the cleansed.

Verse 14, he even expands it, “Deliver me from bloodguiltiness, O God, the God of my salvation. Do this then my tongue will joyfully sing of Your righteousness.” This is more of his witness. He can joyfully sing of the righteousness of God. Verse 15 even expands it more, “O Lord, open my lips that my mouth may declare Your praise. Free me up from the burden of this guilt and I’ll teach transgressors Your ways and sinners will be converted and I’ll joyfully sing of Your righteousness and my mouth will declare Your praise. Touch the coal to my mouth, like You did to Isaiah’s, so I can be a witness to sinners.”

There’s a second consideration that he makes as he looks at himself. Verses 16 and 17, this has to do not with sinners but with God. “You do not delight in sacrifice, otherwise I would give it. You’re not pleased with burnt offering.” That alone doesn’t do it. “The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit, a broken and a contrite heart, O God, You will not despise.” The key word here is “You do not delight in,” or “You are not pleased with.”

What’s David saying? I want a life that pleases You. I want my life to have an effect on sinners, lead them to conversion. I want my life to have a positive effect on You. I want You to delight in my life. Wow! I want my life to please You. I want You to find pleasure in my life.

And then finally, it’s the saints. He understands that if his own life isn’t right, he’s not going to be useful to the saints. But once he’s cleansed, then he’s useful to the saints. How? Psalm 66:18 says, “If I regard iniquity in my heart, the Lord will not hear me,” right? If my life is impure, my prayers don’t get answered. That means I can’t pray for you and expect an answer. So in verses 18 and 19 he prays for his people. “By Your favor do good to Zion, build the walls of Jerusalem. Restore Jerusalem in righteousness. Then You will delight in righteous sacrifices because they won’t just be offerings that are external, they’ll be righteous sacrifices and burnt offering and whole burnt offering and then young bulls will be offered on Your altar,” meaning with a right attitude. The point being that he now feels that he can pray for His people. The point is this, if my life is not pure, then I can’t be an effective evangel to the sinners, I can’t bring delight to God and I can’t be useful to intercede on behalf of the saints. The prayers of a righteous man produce much.

What’s at stake here? Your usefulness to the lost, your usefulness to the church and even your usefulness to God.

Father, as we come now to this table, we are recognizing in our own lives our own sinfulness. May we see sin the way the Psalmist saw it as worthy of judgment, in need of grace, producing guilt. May we accept full responsibility for our sin. May we understand that it is an expression of who we really are in our remaining flesh and fallenness. May we come to You as a holy God, who desires genuine internal purity, as a God who is powerful enough to effect that transformation, who is willing to forgive. And may You do this work in us. Cleanse us, Lord, that we might be useful to sinners and saints and that we might even bring delight to You.

Lord, now as we come to this table, we realize what David didn’t yet know that the Lord Jesus Christ on the cross paid the penalty to make this forgiveness available. We’re not asking for salvation, we want the joy of our salvation back. We already belong to You. We want purity of life because we want usefulness and we want delight to come to You and we want to be able to administer effectively to the saints.

As we come to the Lord’s table, we’ve been reminded that we shouldn’t come in an unworthy way. We need to confess our sin, examine our hearts, see that nothing is between us and You, confessing our sins. Lord, would You move in every heart by Your Holy Spirit to prompt that conviction that leads to confession and may it be a genuine confession. Produce in us a true, broken and contrite spirit. Cleanse us, create in us a clean heart, renew a right spirit that would please You. We thank You for the cross of Christ which makes this forgiveness possible.”

http://www.gty.org/resources/sermons/80-353/the-believers-confession-of-sin

===

John MacArthur The Believers Battle With Sin (Romans 7:14-24) You need to understand your newness of life!  WE HAVE BEEN MADE NEW CREATIONS AND THAT NEW LIFE IS PURE AND RIGHTEOUS AND HOLY.  A RESULT OF REGENERATION BY A SEED WHICH IS IMPERISHABLE THAT IS THE SEED OF GOD.   Ephesians 4:24 created by God in true righteousness and holiness

Link to part 1 The Believers Battle With Sin (Romans 7:14-24) :  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T_ek99ts3vE&t=1804s

Part 2:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YyfDZqSj41k